My Growing Love of Gardening

The other day I was in a funk.

I was off, feeling huffy and short-tempered. My husband told me to go take a nap. Instead, I gave him baby, left him with the toddler and went outside for some one-on-one time with my little lovelies. Just me, the dirt and the spectacle of nature.

I am struck by the beauty of nature…

Spiral of Life


A bursting forth…


Ready to see what’s on the other side…


Pea flowers


Nature’s twine.

I love to walk out in the cool morning air and see the dew on the plants.


I wanted to see if I could grow my own watermelons this time. (Last time some critter ate them up when they were babies.)

Saw this little beauty this morning.


My towering melon that I nursed to vibrancy (with my positive thoughts) after transplanting.


Well, it’s not towering, but it is strong and healthy after fighting back from looking droopy!

Some of our yummy fruits:

Asian Pear


Grapes


Blueberry


Kiwiberry

Gardening helps me reconnect, relax and rejuvenate. After my little therapy session, I went upstairs with a smile on my face and peace in my heart. Yes, I do believe gardening might just make me a better mother!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Meg on June 15, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I’m coming to live with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

