Blog “Break” Update

On January 24, I decided to take a blog break.

I read about Christine from The Aums vowing to take a break. I sensed that I was feeling the same overwhelm and needed to refocus. For some reason I felt inspired to announce this to everyone on the blog rather than to slip away silently.

In fact, I said I would focus on the following:

  1. Reading The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth (Michel Odent), The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth (Henci Goer), Ina May’s Guide to Breastfeeding …. and finishing Unconditional Parenting….but I don’t have to write a book report on that.
  2. Tour a hospital or birth center (need two, but I’m aiming for one) and interview a medical professional there.
  3. Interview my homebirth midwife.
  4. Spend time with and create activities for my two year old daughter.
  5. Stare at, smell, cuddle and kiss as well as marvel at my baby boy.
  6. Try to get some sort of routine/regularity/rhythm in our family life.
  7. Keep my house (and myself?) cleaner.
  8. Write my birth story for my second homebirth.
  9. Get outside daily. (Carnival post with the rest of my first time ever New Year’s resolutions coming next week….)
  10. Sleep a bit more…..?

Well, here it is the day before Leap Day. Let’s see how I’m doing shall we?

  1. I hope to finish The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth today and write a book report. I will finish Unconditional Parenting in the next day or two — look for the last post! I realized I started the LLLThe Womanly Art of Breastfeeding instead of Ina May’s, but I’m nowhere near book report ready.
  2. Uh……. This one slipped my mind completely.
  3. This too.
  4. I have tried to be mindful daily from moment to moment how I can meet my daughter’s need for me at this time of transition. I am still tandem nursing, which I hope gives her some sense of closeness. As far as activities, I have made some things I think are fun, but I haven’t posted them because I’m supposed to be on a break. Ha! I’m trying out my newest today — colored mittens submerged in water beads, including a snow white pair. I’ve been enjoying coming up with activities based on books she likes. This one is, of course, The Mitten by Jan Brett.
  5. YES. I don’t do enough of this with my little man. Can one ever get enough baby? (When they aren’t crying?)
  6. I am happy to say that we really are finally getting somewhere on getting a rhythm and structure to our life. Our family is coming together. We are figuring out roles and routines that work but are flexible. We are meeting needs better by clarifying our (adult) priorities day to day and communicating more clearly.
  7. Oh my goodness this one makes me really happy. I am finally getting to be a cleaner and more organized person. A person who is keeping a house. It feels good to come down to a clean kitchen and to know my daughter has a fresh space to engage with and explore. It doesn’t take long if we keep on top of things. We hit a snag with the laundry still, but the rest of the house is hanging in there. (With the exception of my two storage closets which my daughter got into and joyfully disorganized. Need locks on those two!)
  8. Ugh. Maybe I’m just not ready to write my birth story? Seems like a long time ago already. We’ll see how the Birth Art course inspires me….
  9. I am doing better with this. We all are. My daughter is outside daily, sometimes 2 and 3 times a day. We go out as a family, dogs included, more often. I am feeling good physically. I get body achy, but it’s a good “we worked hard” muscle ache that should pass as I continue to get active.
  10. I AM sleeping more. More than I expected. This sweet boy of mine is so different than my girl. And I thought she was easy? Lately he’s been stuffy and waking us all up, though, so I’ve been sleeping instead of doing the above, I guess.

Overall, I am feeling ok with what I did on this list. I actually didn’t take too much of a break, either, I’m realizing. I just felt there was a momentum and some carnivals came up that fit things I have been pondering. So, I guess I’m thinking maybe this “break” will extend into March, maybe become more of an actual break without the Book Club and by dropping the Sunday Surf unless it’s simple.

Anyway, I don’t think I’m the only one out there feeling overwhelmed. Making a list like this and choosing a place (or two) of flexibility helped me accomplish some of the things I wanted to get going. I may not have finished everything, but I have increased my motivation and laid some groundwork for the future. I’m grateful to Christine for helping me get it together.

Now I wonder, how are The Aums are doing? Worth getting over there to check it out!

One response to this post.

  1. Well, I’ve kind of slipped into silent mode for at least a week…not looking because I really don’t want to know. There is absolutely so much I want to blog about but I simply cannot find the quiet, awake time I need to write. Gonna try harder in March though…wish me luck! Glad you are feeling so positive and motivated…that’s always contagious 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

