Carnival: Birthing and New Beginnings…and Better Mothering

Welcome to the first edition of the Authentic Parenting Blog Carnival, hosted by Authentic Parenting and Mudpiemama!

In the month of January, we start afresh, a new year, new ideas. Hence, our participants have looked into the topic of “Birth and New Beginnings”. Take a look at the end of this post to find a list of links to the entries of the other participants.

**************************************************

I’ve never had New Year’s resolutions before, but this blog carnival got me inspired.

Here was the prompt for this month’s carnival post:

January is the month where we start afresh, take the plunge again and leave the old. What are your new year’s resolutions? Maybe you will be welcoming a new baby (or have done so recently). Share all your insights about birth and starting afresh in this very diverse carnival.

Moss!

Here’s what went through my head:

        • I will gladly “take the plunge” and drop some old baggage; I am in need of an attitude adjustment when it comes to my two-year old daughter (as my Tandem Nurturer posts admit).
        • I never have had or kept New Year’s resolutions.
        • I did  just have a baby boy on December 22!
        • I just posted the first of a three-part Birth Sunday Surf Series with over 40 links for labor, birth preparation, baby, postpartum and more.
        • I need to make some resolutions about my relationship with my daughter that might help me make the change I’m desperate for. Maybe if I tell people I don’t know about it online I’ll work even harder to stay committed and conscious for the long term.

These are some overarching goals I came up with to build some concrete resolutions:

  • Overall health and well being come first.
  • Be more YES.
  • Stay mindful.

Surprise Snow in October

So, here are my first New Year’s resolutions. (Please let them help me be a better mom.)

  1. Get 15 min outside with my toddler each day — snow, shine, dark, cold. Doesn’t have to be fancy. Oh, and she leads the show.
  2. Say yes to at least one thing a day, just b/c she wants to even if I have all kinds of reasons (excuses) not to — includes getting moving and getting messy!
  3. Keep my mouth shut when I feel frustrated or angry (rather than just reacting immediately). Use the silent time to scan my feelings and thoughts, to breathe, to observe my daughter and the situation and consciously make choices in which I cuddle instead of criticize, laugh instead of lecture, and relinquish control to my child instead of retaining power and privilege for myself.

My idea right now is to start with one moment at a time, build my confidence, become mindful of my life, and look at each interaction as a new opportunity. I need my relationship with my daughter to be more consistently joyful. I’m going to try to focus on these three things in the hopes that I can create a more conscious and loving relationship with her.

In general, I hope these help me be a more creative and playful, and positive and present mother.

Warm Rain Walk Treasures

************************************************


Visit Authentic Parenting and MudpieMama to find out how you can participate in the next Authentic Parenting Blog Carnival!

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

11 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, I so relate to #3!

    Reply

  2. Not really sure why it posted that last comment before I even got my name typed, let alone finished a thought! Anyway, yes . . . #3 . . . sometimes I feel like I just need to stop talking so much so quickly and chill out and listen/regroup. Every day I think I’m going to be better at this, and every day I end up having one (or ten) of those moments when I don’t. Sigh.

    Reply

  3. Valerie, YES! #3 is so helpful but so hard to do! It’s all a work in progress. That’s why I’m making it a resolution so that I can (hopefully) start to make this more automatic. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!
    sheila

    Reply

  4. […] Birthing and New Beginnings… And Better Mothering Sheila at A Living Family shares her first ever New Year’s resolutions to be a more mindful, compassionate and respectful mother to her two-year old daughter after the recent birth of her son. […]

    Reply

  5. Hi, fellow carnival-er here, and fellow Tandem Nurturer too. I am going to go catch up on your posts about that as I’ve found it tricky at times, and I’ve felt like the only person in the whole world who is doing it (even though I know I’m not).

    ‘I need to make some resolutions about my relationship with my daughter that might help me make the change I’m desperate for. Maybe if I tell people I don’t know about it online I’ll work even harder to stay committed and conscious for the long term.’ This struck a MAJOR chord with me ~ in fact I started the zen mummy blog and my journey into mindful mothering for the very same reason ad with the very same motives. Your goals and resolutions are things I’ve been trying to work on too ~ sometimes it’s so much easier to just stay at home because getting out with two little ones is a major feat, and I say ‘no’ & get snappy far more often than I should do.

    I’m so glad the carnival introduced me to your blog 

    Reply

  6. […] Birthing and New Beginnings… And Better Mothering Sheila at A Living Family shares her first ever New Year’s resolutions to be a more mindful, compassionate and respectful mother to her two-year old daughter after the recent birth of her son. […]

    Reply

  7. […] Birthing and New Beginnings… And Better Mothering Sheila at A Living Family shares her first ever New Year’s resolutions to be a more mindful, compassionate and respectful mother to her two-year old daughter after the recent birth of her son. […]

    Reply

  8. […] Posted January 27, 2012 by alivingfamily in attachment parenting, better mom, goals, motherhood, mothering, natural parenting, parenting, Tandem Nurturer, Uncategorized. Tagged: attachment parenting, better mom, goals, motherhood, mothering, natural parenting, parenting, Tandem Nurturer. 7 Comments […]

    Reply

  9. […] Birthing and New Beginnings… And Better Mothering Sheila at A Living Family shares her first ever New Year’s resolutions to be a more mindful, compassionate and respectful mother to her two-year old daughter after the recent birth of her son. […]

    Reply

  10. Visiting from the carnival! I love your honestly and how open you are to reflecting on those things that you wish to change. We all do the best that we can and the mere fact that you have created this great list speaks volumes about who you are as a mother! I’ll look forward to hearing more about your progress! 😉

    Reply

  11. Hi Helen and Jennifer!
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts. I am trying to be honest and open, so I’m grateful for the encouragement. Sometimes reading about other blogger mamas it seems like everyone has it together. I have been working to put myself out there more, missteps and all. I am growing and changing. That is one of the blessings of motherhood. ~sheila

    Reply

Leave a Reply

