Back to Reality Blog Break

I have totally been having funky fussy feelings.

I want to blog and hang on A Living Family Facebook page since I’m feeling momentum . However, I need to create another life for myself (financially), and part of that is becoming a childbirth educator. Instead of reading and researching and writing to finish my certification, which hopefully will get me some income in the future, I’m doing the same things for free. I love doing them, but I’ve only been given two years to finish my certification and over a year has passed. EEK!

Step in Christine of The Aums and her Blog and Laundry Break post.

Seriously, other than the fact that I have no idea what a meme is, this woman was speaking directly to me! I need to take a blog break. This is hard because I love writing and have so much I am thinking about, so much that seems worth sharing (I hope). I also feel eager to start building a new life  around all these things that I am passionate about: childbirth, breastfeeding, home/unschooling, and all kinds of parenting topics from babywearing to baby-led solids, from signing with children to gentle discipline.

Christine’s taking a week off, but here’s my plan.

I like feeling community on Facebook with all the mamas out there, so I’m going to keep doing that but limit my computer time to an hour a day. On the blog, after I finish the book club post that is late, I’m going to run the posts I have scheduled. I will keep up the Unconditional Parenting posts every week and the Sunday Surf every other week. I’ll also share my Mamatography blog each week. Then I will take the month of February and see what I can get done when I get serious with this birth educator work.

As Christine requested, here’s what I’ll be doing instead of blogging:

  • Reading Birth Reborn (Michel Odent), The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth Birth (Henci Goer), Ina May’s Guide to Breastfeeding …. and finishing Unconditional Parenting….but I don’t have to write a book report on that.
  • Tour a hospital or birth center (need two, but I’m aiming for one) and interview a medical professional there.
  • Interview my homebirth midwife.
  • Spend time with and create activities for my two year old daughter.
  • Stare at, smell, cuddle and kiss as well as marvel at my baby boy.
  • Try to get some sort of routine/regularity/rhythm in our family life.
  • Keep my house (and myself?) cleaner.
  • Write my birth story for my second homebirth.
  • Get outside daily. (Carnival post with the rest of my first time ever New Year’s resolutions coming next week….)
  • Sleep a bit more…..?

So folks…..

7 responses to this post.

  1. It took me a while too to limit my blog time. Its hard to stop when you love doing it but as you said we need to earn a living and the real world does not wait. So with much pain, I was able to limit my blog time…. We can all do it.

    Reply

  2. Honestly, I’m just pretending I know what a meme is…pretty convincing, eh? I truly believe that a little blog break will make us better bloggers. I’m looking forward to doing the stuff on my list without the added pressure I put on myself to write/publish a post, as much as I enjoy that too. Thanks so much for linking up…now you are a meme pro too!

    Reply

    • You totally had me convinced!
      I’ve already done some things on my list (including our first walk with mama, Uma and baby!), so I’m hopeful that February will find me productive.

      Reply

  3. How exciting! Have fun learning more about your new trade, and we’ll be here when you get back!

    Reply

  4. Brandi, you have no idea how wonderful it feels to have you say that! Here’s hoping… 😉

    Reply

  5. […] On January 24, I decided to take a blog break. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

