Sunday Stream-Of-Consciousness: Sling Envy

Totally drool-worthy new Boba 3G
Courtesy paxbaby.com
 

I love me some babywearing.  Nowadays, my 6 slings just aren’t enough.


Before I had Beanie I always knew I wanted to babywear.  I just didn’t know what I wanted needed.  First, I ordered a fancy European stretchy wrap (BB Tricot Wrap) in organic fabric.  Then he was born and it was obvious that I was a babywearing ninny.  I was scared to wrap us up in the yards of fabric lest my origami-esque endeavors resulted in him falling out.  About a month afterwards, I conned my abuelita into buying the “Dr. Sears Approved Sling“.  Total bad-for-the-baby, bad-for-you-bag-sling.  Mal hated it too.  Soon afterwards, I found an organic, one-size Hotsling at our local natural food store, watched the video, practiced with a stuffed teddy and then gingerly put him in.  He liked it, not right away, but he eventually learned to love it.

Morale bolstered, I then attempted the dreaded not-Moby again.  It finally worked!  He loved to snuggle and I could move my arms (though not directly upwards, gah!)  But at 3 months, he was 16 pounds.  Time to try the back carry with my lovely new Kozy mei tai.  Genius!  I started to actually do housework again.  Then at 6 months, it started to feel uncomfortable.  Introducing the new SSC (soft structured carrier), the Boba!  (Organic fabric too.)  This was the sling that finally got my husband into babywearing.  Finally, when I happened to visit Metro Minis in NYC and spied some lovely new “inexpensive” woven Didymos wraps that had just come in, I realized that what I really needed was something light and comfy for the beach and summertime.  I have worn it exactly one time, at the beach, that summer. (!)

My slings have rotated in and out of favor (except for that awful bag sling).  But at a recent babywearing meeting near my home in NJ, I got to try on a ring sling (a lightly padded Maya), the only type of sling I haven’t owned yet.  And I loved it!  Mal loved it too, he snuggled up right next to me in a hip carry and insisted that I cover him with the tail.  So easy to wear under winter coats.  So quick and easy to pop him up and down, thus saving my arms and my sciatic nerve.  This is the one folks!  At least, that’s what I’m telling my husband.

What sling is your current fave?  Are you hoping the Sling Fairy will visit you soon too?

Addendum:

  • So, apparently, I could totally make my own Maya wrap ring sling based on instructions from their website.  Anyone want to have a sling sewing party?
  • Although, if I wanted to really make a fancy sling, I’d make this one.  Um, internal harness to switch from front to back carry?  Yes, please.  (I know, I know, the Beco Butterfly 2 has it too.)
  • I secretly want one of these mei-tai hybrids too.  I tried one on at Metro Minis and it was oh-so-comfortable … but British and therefore, expensive.
  • I really want one of these Boba Packs in Tweet to attach to my boring old Boba.  Or make a similar one from here.  But will I probably settle for getting a Patapum waist pouch or bag, or get this one for the ring sling.  Just found this one too!  Has anyone tried these?
  • Find slings FSOT (For Sale or Trade) on the BabywearerCaution:  highly addictive!
  • I actually got to try on the awesome Boba 3G at the meeting.  The mama who brought it rented it from here – a sling exchange = genius!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I soooooo want a Boba…I’ve heard great things about em! Maybe I can try one from the babywearer site! I’ll trade my moby and what not ha! 🙂

    Reply

  2. My original Boba is my go-to sling nowadays, but the new Boba 3G has so many more thoughtful features! You can “rent” it at Paxbaby.com and see if you like it! How old is your little one? -Jen

    Reply

  3. Baby slings are in demand nowadays. Many mothers would love to have it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

