My Happy Place: Day 10

Today’s Happy Place: Preparation

Life is uncertain and unpredictable. That’s part of the joy of living. It is also probable cause for stress and anxiety.

As a teacher, I know that taking the time to make a plan, even if it goes out the window sooner rather than later, is a helpful exercise. From my personal life, I know that making a list of to do items and crossing them off can alleviate the overwhelm of a long task-list or a big project, even if I don’t get everything done. I have been trying to wrap my head around the reality of another baby in the house, another child in the family.

Today I had my 32 week prenatal visit. Sharing with my midwife all that I have done in the last two weeks (when I found out I was 30 weeks and not 27 like I thought — eek!), I felt relief that I am making the preparations necessary. I feel like my efforts are paying off.

Here are some of the things I did in the last two weeks to get ready for this growing family:

  • I’m on my way to finishing my daughter’s playroom and clothing station as well as getting post-baby activities together for her as well as preparing her for the birth itself by watching birth videos and having lots of baby talk time (which she loves).
  • I’m almost finished sorting through all the clothes, books and toys and having all that set up.
  • I’ve ordered the birth kit and supplies including the birth tub liner and extra sitz bath herbs — both musts in my opinion.
  • I’ve got an appointment with a doctor (what?! for a homebirth?) to see if I can ease the transition to my local hospital in case of transfer.
  • I’ve got the placenta lady (as I say) on the calendar for encapsulating my placenta after the birth. (I will be taking these at the first sign of the dark moments I felt in the …. well, in the dark of night the last time around.)
  • I have a meal train set up online with a link that I will send to friends begging them to feed me and my family in the first weeks after the birth before my parents come.
  • I even set up a luxurious prenatal massage for Week 38 and a postnatal Ayurvedic massage for a week after the birth (whenever that is). — Local folks, Spiral Belly is back! Check out Jade’s diverse and healing services….she’s also now a Certified Nurse Midwife!

I still have so much to do, including some more internal work (birth art, anyone?). Still, I felt joyous today talking with my midwife. I am feeling much more prepared and ready today than I did two weeks ago upon realizing how close the birth actually is.

Now to keep up the momentum so I can relax towards the end……

One response to this post.

  1. […] wrote on Happy Place Day 10 about all the things I have been working on in preparation for the upcoming shifts in my family. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

