My Happy Place: Day 8

ORGANIZATION!

I know this is just like Day 6, but I am organizationally challenged. I can mentally get it and love (in an almost OCD kind of way) systems and labels and organized spaces. I just don’t know how to go from all the stuff all over the place at the first sign of life passing by to spaces with clear purpose and placement that are continually maintained.

Of course, My Plan to Be a Better Mom involves organizing our spaces. It’s just taken me to the end of the pregnancy to feel the urgent need to actually make my mental pictures a reality. My daughter needs it. I need it. My whole family needs it.

The Aums: Clothing Station

Today’s Happy Place is that we went through all my daughter’s clothes and separated the latest mountains of “too small,” “too big” and “just right” clothing. Soon (when I can get time when my daughter isn’t around to thwart my plans for greatness), I will put the just right clothing into bins for a long-awaited clothing station. Pants, long sleeve shirts, socks are for sure happening, and I’m still debating adding in dresses and leggings. (See how Christine @ The Aums made one clothing station for her 4 kids! Check out the photo and drool!)

All this comes after going through all the toys into “give away,” “keep for later” (for older and younger child) and “in rotation” piles. As I said on Day 6, having the 2nd birthday party here spurred me into organizing a lot of the rest of the house, putting out just a few toys and books in the name of simplicity and exploration. I still have to finalize the work I’ve done (actually store stuff away and label the bins and so forth), but I am feeling soooo good! Definitely satisfying whatever nesting instinct is at work in me.

Woohoo! Bring on the clothing station!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by AMPARO on November 8, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    OMG!!!! I love organization!!!! these ideas are awesome!!! I love your blog!!!!
    Hugs to the family from Argentina

    Reply

  2. Posted by ettel on November 9, 2011 at 8:22 am

    sounds like a wonderful idea. can’t wait to see it in action.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

