Yummy, Healthy (First) Birthday Cake

UPDATE: November 2012

For my daughter’s third birthday, I made these cupcakes with sifted sprouted spelt flour. They were the most delicious attempt at these cupcakes I have ever made. I went lighter on the spices, but the flour made the cupcakes absolutely delicious. Made the icing with cream cheese, butter and whipping cream–light and lightly sweetened. Perfect!

*****

My daughter’s second birthday is rolling around faster than I expect it. Plus, there are a number of almost one-year olds with fall birthdays. I thought it might be a good time to get out some good birthday cake recipes.

Unfortunately, I had compiled a ton of links in my old bookmark bar. Alas, they are all gone and along with them my recipe for Uma’s first birthday cake. Such a shame because that was some yummy cake! All I really remember is that I made chai carrot cupcakes for a November birthday, and they couldn’t have been a bigger hit with … the adults. I mean, the children ate some, but all the big people had to work hard to exercise some control. I think they tasted even better because they were only slightly sweet and I put tons of cardamon in, which I love.

I’m including a link to the recipe I think I followed, my actual ingredients as best I remember, links on egg/dairy/gluten free substitution and some other links to (first) birthday cake recipes, including raw cakes!

Chai Carrot Cupcakes (modified from Carrot Cake with Maple Icing)

Cake

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/4 cups safflower oil
  • 4 large eggs (egg replacements below–can’t remember what I used, sadly)
  • 3 cups grated peeled carrots
  • 2 tablespoons minced peeled ginger (or more…or less)
  • spices to taste (1 tsp or less for stronger, up to a tbsp or more for weaker…or none) — cardamon, nutmeg, cinnamon….I suppose if adventurous you could use black pepper, clove, star anise or even fennel as your taste prefers…

Icing

  • 10 ounces cream cheese (such as Philadelphia), room temperature
  • maple syrup to taste
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)

****************************

Egg replacements (Note: This link is broken down by type of food and more comprehensive than what’s below)

  • 2 tbsp corn starch = 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot flour = 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp potato starch = 1 egg
  • 1 heaping tbsp soy powder + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp soy milk powder + 1 tbsp cornstarch + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg
  • 1 banana = 1 egg in cakes

Wheat Flour Substitutes (not all gluten free, but many of those are on there)

Vegan Icing Ideas:

  • Coconut Icing (GF)
  • Use dairy-free cream cheese and/or soy margarine (see recipes in link above)
  • Leave off the icing — these cupcakes are YUM!

***********************************

MORE RECIPES

http://urbanposer.blogspot.com/2011/05/grain-free-carrot-cake-minis-whoney.html
RAW Cakes

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meg on September 2, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Thank you for bringing so much good food to my awareness. I am still dreaming of the veggie burger mix you made. I may never go back to meat again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

