Other Frontiers: Breastfeeding during Pregnancy and Tandem Nursing

(NOTE: Story first this time, links below.)

After a stressful but generally successful start, my daughter and I had a fairly strong and easygoing breastfeeding relationship. She has never been one to sit still and nurse but has always been a pretty gentle nurser. I fed on demand day or night, though I did work outside of the home and pump. Even at 14 months sometimes demand was *all* day and sometimes it meant 5-6 times. She got her first teeth at that time, was active and developing language and motor skills like crazy.

I felt so happy to be past a year. By month 15 and 16, I was feeling the best I had felt about breastfeeding, and I felt the best ever while breastfeeding. I rarely felt frustrated and mostly had those “oh, this is too sweet, please never end” feelings. I had nipples of steel that could handle my daughter’s latched acrobatics. I was over any embarrassment about flashed nipple and was just overall confident and calm about the whole thing. I was definitely going to reach my goal of nursing to 2 years. I had a clear vision of nursing into year 3 and 4. This was going to be awesome…….

Then pumping became difficult and stressful. What was wrong with the pump? Where was my milk? Nothing was coming out. Nursing started to get painful. Why was she hurting me all of a sudden? Was something wrong? This was getting to be too much. Then….puking and a positive pregnancy test. By 8 weeks I was nauseous all day, had nipples that felt too sore to nurse (or even wear a shirt) and something worse than anything I had faced before.

Every pregnant woman responds differently to each pregnancy. Some barely notice any changes or difficulties. Others have pain and can get through it, or not. I met and talked to a number of women who have nursed while pregnant. All said it was hard, but they persisted and nursed despite pain. For me, nursing meant that my mind screamed, “NO!!! Shove that thing off you!” at peak volume while my sweet little girl tried to do what she and I had been happily doing for months. I literally felt insane and barely able to let her nurse for 60 seconds, which seemed like an absolute eternity. Enter guilt and sadness. WHY WAS THIS SO HARD?! Was something wrong with me? Did I not care enough about my daughter or breastfeeding? Didn’t I want her to nurse through the pregnancy and long after? Would this end our breastfeeding relationship? 2 years was feeling far, far away, and I wasn’t sure I was going to make it.

Between me using distraction, hugs, food or water when she wanted milkies during awake hours and her wanting less (because there wasn’t any?), she was only nursing before naps and bedtime. She maybe woke up once or twice at night and then none, when she was waking up 2 or 3 times a night. Just over a month before she was nursing all those times and more during the day. Now she woke up, wanted a cuddle and went back to sleep. After waking every 2-3 hours at 14 months, at 21 months she is now sometimes sleeping 9-11 hours straight.

Shouldn’t I be overjoyed that pregnant, exhausted me is getting to sleep so long?  I know some would be congratulating themselves on getting their child to finally sleep through the night (something I had never held much expectation for). I was feeling sad and guilty — how was this child-led weaning? It was confusing and hard to have uncontrollable negative feelings towards my daughter while breastfeeding. I wanted the sleep but woke up all the time anyway to listen and see if she was ok. Mostly, it was the guilt that other mothers were pushing through and nursing away whenever, and I was forcing my daughter to only nurse for one round of the Baby Beluga song before sleeping. [I stay in there with her. She plays about or rolls around on the bed with me. These are some of her cuddliest, kissiest, sweetest moments. She has gotten more cuddly and affectionate since milkies “are sleeping”  or “tired” more.]

Despite the drama in my heart and mind, it turns out I am not alone. Yes, there are thankfully lots of women and stories of pushing through, but there are also women who have cut back or set limits. Some wean entirely. I am afraid to do that because I do want to try tandem nursing and would love for my first to nurse as long as she wants (even if that means I have some boundaries).

The point? I don’t have to feel guilty. I nursed my child for 17 solid months and am continuing to conserve a breastfeeding relationship at 21 months. I am taking it day by day and feeling a boost from all the wonderful posts for World Breastfeeding Week at Natural Parents Network. I am definitely going to make it to 2 years, and I am certainly going to do my darndest to tandem nurse. I have a lot of resources to check out and things to learn. Below are some of the places I’ve been online. Everything I’ve read suggests I should acquire a copy of Adventures in Tandem Nursing: Breastfeeding During Pregnancy and Beyond.

Extended breastfeeding can come with challenges. One of those might be nursing while pregnant. Another might then be tandem nursing. I hope the resources below help others on this journey. It can be a tough road, but I have surely found it easier travelling alongside the mamas that make up this large, extended community.

RESOURCES

Nursing Two (Kellymom’s Pregnancy and Tandem Breastfeeding site — companion to Adventures in Tandem Nursing)

Adventures in Tandem Nursing: Breastfeeding During Pregnancy and Beyond (book)

Links, Recommended Resources and Stories (Kellymom)

BREASTFEEDING DURING PREGNANCY

Common Discomforts and How to Help: Part 1 and Part 2

Forced (Influenced) Weaning Due to Pregnancy

Breastfeeding through Pregnancy: My 2nd Trimester Experience and 3rd Trimester Update

TANDEM NURSING

Tips for Tandem Breastfeeding a Baby and a Toddler

5 Tips on Nursing During Pregnancy and Tandem Nursing

Tandem Nursing: A Personal Experience and Update: 18 Months and Going Strong! (has several links to other people’s tandem stories)

9 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks so much for linking up my tandem nursing stories!

    Reply

  2. So I got pregnant with Jiro when Aumar was around 7 months old and nursing exclusively. I didn’t know I was pregnant until just after Aum’s first bday and just before your wedding! I think it was the not knowing that helped me get through because I do remember those next few months of nursing being more difficult and my milk supply changing and when I finally had that AHA! moment, I understood why. Just after his first bday, I noticed that he wasn’t as interested in nursing so I just went with it. All of my children are less than 2 years apart and all have asked to nurse when seeing me nurse a newborn sibling. I was up for tandem nursing, so I said yes to all of them and brought them to my breast and they have all never remembered how. I think they were just curious and also wondering about hierarchy and their place in my world now that I was giving most of my attention to a newborn. I think once they knew they could nurse if they really wanted to, they felt confident that mama loved all her babies. I nursed the longest with Palauma, my lastborn, and so wanted to make the 2 year mark, but I wasn’t sure how to MAKE it happen…she seemed to move on and leave it behind and I followed her lead reluctantly. She has since replaced nursing with poking/fondling my bellybutton and about 3 times a day she takes a break and cuddles with me and asks for “belly.”

    Reply

  3. […] Breastfeeding and Pregnancy/Tandem Nursing […]

    Reply

  4. […] relationship with my daughter. As I described in the World Breastfeeding Week Series post on pregnancy and tandem nursing, the shift in our relationship has been difficult for me. It feels hard when my body is saying no […]

    Reply

  5. […] weaning). I wrote about the major shift in my breastfeeding status that came at 18 months here and gave an update here. Things just didn’t go as I thought they would. In fact, they went […]

    Reply

  6. […] I shared in an earlier post that I am a tandem nurser after my toddler relearned to latch and nurse. For a while there I was wondering, “Am I (still) a breastfeeding mama?” My daughter even gained a nose obsession from when she weaned during pregnancy. […]

    Reply

  7. […] old daughter and I have had some rough spots in our nursing relationship, including weaning during pregnancy and relearning how to nurse postpartum. The first tandem nurse. Is my toddler really […]

    Reply

  8. […] old daughter and I have had some rough spots in our nursing relationship, including weaning during pregnancy and relearning how to nurse postpartum. The first tandem nurse. Is my toddler really […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

