On Humility…and Togetherness

Sunday Surprise! Mama Eve told me that she liked my post on her thoughts about sharing. She put me on this week’s Sunday Surf! This is a great idea I might have to steal from her. There are some great articles on there.

Two I have lined up to read are:

One article I did read was Leaky Boob‘s “Breastfeeding = Breastfeeding.” This article is long, but it’s worth it. It gave me a dose of encouragement to continue my recent quest to humble myself and tone down my fervor. It feels good to be passionate, but I am really about choice and dialogue. I want my actions and manner to reflect that desire. I don’t want to alienate people when my intentions are to build positive, strong communities and support informed, empowered choice.

In fact, one of the Living Family goals for this summer is to get together some free meet ups in the greater Philadelphia region on any of the topics A Living Family is about — breastfeeding, cosleeping, babywearing, signing with babies, birth, homebirth, natural birth, attachment parenting, RIE, and fathers/stay-at-home dads as well as parenting in general. My goals are simple. I want to welcome people from all walks of life to come together, share our joys and struggles, and leave with a little wisdom or peace or inspiration….and maybe some yummy food in the belly.

Having a child is hard.  No one knows everything or has all “the answers,” but we each possess knowledge and wisdom we gain through living and experiencing the journey. I believe that together we can help each other be the best parents we can be, regardless of where we are at or from as individuals. In having open and honest conversation we can change the world our children live in. I haven’t talked too much about it, but this is my hope for my life’s work.

I am open to honest thoughts and feedback and hope to engage humbly in dialogue with others. What do you think? Would you be interested in adding your voice? Would you attend a meetup, read a quarterly newsletter, or subscribe/comment on the blog?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lata Murti on April 4, 2011 at 4:55 am

    Sheila, I think this is my favorite post of yours so far. You possess incredible insight, compassion, and wisdom. I have been craving meetups such as the ones you’ve suggested here. I wish we lived closer! … Yes, I would read a quarterly newsletter or subscribe/comment on “the blog” (?).

    Reply

  2. […] 2. as you may know from my own recent blogpost on humility and togetherness, these things are at the forefront of my mind currently. i am striving to have people actually feel what i intend when i speak and act — the space i want to create for them to come into the discussion. http://alivingfamily.com/2011/04/03/on-humility-and-togetherness/ […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

