Filled with Gratitude

I am thankful today, feeling in the flow, down in the groove, in the pocket. I have felt like that often of late. My life is changing. I feel the way that I get when something big is coming.

Ironically, in my mind the language I use to describe my feelings is water despite the fact…or perhaps because I grew up in Kansas. Not a lot of water out there. I did have access to some creeks (pronounced “cricks” — I imagined these to be very small creeks which are small streams which are small rivers).

In heavy labor, my visualization to release and relax my way out of pain was a wave. Long before that, in early labor came my hardest moment, when I instinctively laid down in the cool, clean riverbed to save me from my doubts in myself. The water rushing over me masked the sensations of rushes overcoming my body.

I have the feeling now of being in a river, wide and strong. I feel the pull and power of the rush of current, the speed, the quickening swinging me around the curve. For you drivers out there, it’s that feeling after you’ve gotten hooked into a turn, and you accelerate to hold that centrifugal force. You have to whip out of this kind of thing at some point, but right now I have that sense of being directed, the flow expressed easily through me.

Everything seems to make sense. Every thing feels full of meaning. Each thought, each act and moment feels like the PRESENT.

This is at times, of course. I am filled with gratitude for the opportunities that I have had to get that close to the source of all things. I have been blessed with so many moments of clarity and grace. Indeed, I continually count myself the most blessed person I have ever known. (And as my friend Joe McCullough likes to quote, “And I love to be proved wrong, so you can show me what your trick is.”)

And you, my friends, what are you grateful for?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lata Murti on February 16, 2011 at 1:10 am

    How poetic! I am learning to be grateful for the way life tests and surprises me because it shows me just how strong I really am.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

