Co-sleeping Is Safe!

I went to my local Whole Foods the other day, and since I brought my own bags I got some wooden nickelsto put into one of two donation boxes. They always have two choices, but they change every few months or so. After the choices changed recently, one of the new organizations is a program that gives cribs to families. My immediate thought was, “What is my other choice?” However, I took the time to read the summary of the organization’s work and mission.

I usually don’t get angry that quickly, but what I read had my blood boiling instantaneously.

The summary basically said they give cribs to low-income families. We are a co-sleeping family and not fans of cribs, but I reserve the right of other people to sleep as they wish. What got my back up was the line that this organization seeks to educate families about the dangers of co-sleeping. Co-sleeping is unsafe, the summary said.

As I said, I am a fan of freedom, so I didn’t want to destroy the organization or anything. If people want cribs and can’t afford them, and other people want to give them, then that is their use of freedom. Still, when I went to check outrecently, I told one of the checkout clerks, whom I see regularly, “I was disappointed to see that the summary of one of the organizations for the nickel donations mentions a false statement about the safety of co-sleeping. Who can I talk to about getting that line removed from the summary?” He said that this is something I feel passionate about, so I should speak to the manager. As we spoke, though, I realized a better approach. I left, telling him that I thought it was better to bring in some articles citing research. “Otherwise,” I said, “I’m just some lady saying something I think. I am not just saying something. My belief is that co-sleeping is safe is founded on research.” So it is.

Below are some articles that I (or you!) can provide someone who needs information on the fact that…

CO-SLEEPING IS SAFE!

Guidelines for Co-sleeping (from Kellymom site below)

  • Parents should not sleep with their babies if they are smokers or have ingested alcohol or drugs. — This is what leads to misinterpretation of the research on co-sleeping. It is dangerous for parents whose alertness and awareness are compromised by cigarettes, excess alcohol or hard drugs.

  • Bedding should be tight fitting to the mattress.
  • The mattress should be tight fitting to the headboard of the bed.
  • There should not be any loose pillows or soft blankets near the baby’s face.
  • There should not be any space between the bed and adjoining wall where the baby could roll andbecome trapped.
  • The baby should not be placed on his stomach. — I disagree with this as a blanket statement. I believe it depends on your bed and your baby. My child sleeps safely and well on her stomach.
  • Some sources also say not to put a baby on a waterbed to sleep.


ARTICLES and RESEARCH:

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] thought I would provide the context for that B/W from the “Co-sleeping Is Safe!” post. I love this little series of photos I captured. It is a perfect example of how someone (my […]

    Reply

  2. […] through many conversations was that of trust. We had conversations about weight, climbing, eating, sleeping, nursing, signing, talking, sharing and more. Underlying all of these was the concept of trust. One […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

