Drinking Chocolate: For Your Happiness and Health

One of my Project goals included trying to make my own goodies rather than buying them. Recently, I found out that drinking chocolate is easy to make at home. What a revelation! This a mood-enhancing, heart-helping chocolatey goodness is one of my favorite ways to enjoy chocolate. I will be trying this for sure.

You may or may not know, but chocolate has many benefits for health and happiness. (You also may or may not know that milk decreases the benefits of chocolate, so it’s dark chocolate all the way.) I love the sumptuous depths of flavor and the smooth, sipping texture of drinking chocolate. Many people, myself included, flock to expensive chocolate cafes to enjoy such a delicacy.

Making my own drinking chocolate:

  • Saves gas for the car
  • Saves all kinds of emissions from oozing into the environment
  • Limits wear and tear on the car so it can (hopefully) run strong longer
  • Allows me to use wonderful local raw milk which supports small, family farms
  • Let’s me choose fair trade, organic cocoa
  • Allows me to switch the sugar source and level for even better health benefits
  • Means I can make a little batch drinking chocolate flavored however I like and store in the fridge (with only extra yummy benefits) and warm when I want a couple times in the week

TIPS:

  • Serve in small amounts, like an espresso would be served
  • If you substitute with hempmilk or soymilk, I would not let either boil. Get it as hot as can be without boiling– watch that milk! Both tend to separate in unpleasant ways if boiled, but this way they can continue heating with the chocolate to get to a nice consistency.

Flavor Ideas:

  • vanilla (extract or bean)
  • orange zest (added to top)
  • cinnamon (for circulation and warmth)
  • chile (for circulation and warmth)
  • and/or a touch of salt (for bolder flavor — salty and sweet)

Recipe for Drinking Chocolate:

Ingredients — SUBSTITUTE AT WILL  : )
2 1/4 cups whole milk
1/4 cup water
1/4 generous cup of superfine Baker’s Sugar
1 3.5 ounce bar of bittersweet chocolate-at least 70% cacao, chop finely
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa loosely packed.

Directions
Combine milk, water and sugar In a medium saucepan. Heat mixture over medium until it reaches a rolling boil. Add the chopped chocolate and cocoa powder. Whisk these ingredients into milk mixture and return to rolling boil. Mixture will thicken. Reduce heat to very low.
Optional:
Blend for 5 minutes with an immersion blender or in a regular blender for 1/2 minute or until drinking chocolate is thick and foamy.


One response to this post.

  1. A love for dark chocolate…yet another thing we have in common! I will be thinking of you when I’m at the Santa Cruz Chocolate Festival tomorrow, and I will have to give your recipe a try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

